Addressing cataloging characteristics of multi-volumes and multiple copies

~April 6-10~

This week I have been cataloging multiple copies and multi-volumes. Many of the books I cataloged were chapbooks or serially published volumes that have been bound together. The authors showcased in these books ranged from famous to lesser known authors. I practiced capturing details that are important in representing these types of materials. I learned how to phrase the wording in the physical descriptions, notes, citations and signature statements.

One of the books I cataloged was The Foundling Hospital for Wit, it was a very detailed record. I asked my supervisor to look over the record to proof read my cataloging format and to ensure that I didn’t miss anything that was essential for describing this book in the rare book cataloging standard. I had several complex records to create this week, so I tried to be as methodical as possible when documenting and checking the details of these books.

This week was really fun, but challenging. I look forward to cataloging more materials similar to these.

Leave a Reply

